Lancashire Union of Golf Clubs Ltd

@FormbyGolfClub host The Arnold Palmer Cup 24th-26thJune Free Spectator Entry


I write to you from Formby Golf Club, to inform you of an exciting event we are hosting in June, showcasing the very best amateur golfers in the world, some of whom will become the next superstars of world golf. Best of all, this event is free spectator entry, and everyone is welcome.


Luke Donald, Ricky Fowler, Graeme McDowell and Dustin Johnson are just a few names who are Arnold Palmer Cup graduates. In addition, five of the US Walker Cup team in 2015 played in the Arnold Palmer Cup earlier in the year, six of the players went off the following week to play in the US Open, and all bar one of the 20 were ranked in the world’s top 35 amateur golfers.


The Arnold Palmer Cup is a Ryder Cup style matchplay event, with Europe against the USA, 10 players per side, and is one of the friendliest events you will come across. The King of Golf himself, Mr Palmer, insists upon the players having his own very high values of sportsmanship and integrity, and the event is also designed to encourage the next generation to our great game. The event is supported by both the R&A and the USGA because of this.


You are all welcome to attend Formby Golf Club on 24th-26th June to enjoy what will surely be an engaging spectacle.


The format is:

Friday 24th           am foursomes matches, pm fourball matches

Saturday 25th      am 10 singles matches

Sunday 26th         am 10 singles matches followed by closing ceremony


Parking will be available, although spaces will be in high demand, so if you are able to make the journey by train, we would recommend the Merseyrail service between Southport and Liverpool, which is every 15 minutes either way, and Freshfield station is at the bottom of our driveway. We are hoping for good crowds to be in attendance.


We really hope you can join us.


We will be releasing tee times and some additional information on the competitors shortly on our next correspondence. For now though, here is a flavour of the courses who have hosted this event and the pedigree of the players involved.


The Arnold Palmer Cup is named in honour of legendary golfer Arnold Palmer and seeks to pass Mr. Palmer’s values to the next generation of golfers.

Past Venues:

1997       Bay Hill

1998       St Andrews Old and New Courses

1999       The Honours Course

2000       Royal Liverpool

2001       Baltusrol

2002       Doonbeg

2003       Classique

2004       Ballybunion

2005       Whistling Straits

2006       Prestwick

2007       Caves Valley

2008       Glasgow Gailes

2009       Cherry Hills

2010       Royal Portrush

2011       Stanwich

2012       Royal County Down

2013       Wilmington        

2014       Walton Heath

2015       Rich Harvest Farms

2016       Formby Golf Club


Past players include:

Luke Donald, Graeme McDowell, Matt Kuchar, Francesco Molinari, Dustin Johnson, Ben Curtis, Webb Simpson, Lucas Glover, Robert Karlsson, Bo van Pelt, Oliver Wilson, Nick Watney, Brandt Snedeker, Rory Sabattini, Hank Kuehne, Charles Howell III, JJ Henry, Jonas Blixt, Bryce Molder, Bill Haas, Ryan Moore, JB Holmes, Billy Horschel, Hunter Mahan, and Formby Golf Club member, Geoff Harris.


Bryson Dechambeau, 2014 Arnold Palmer Cup player, this year became only the fourth golfer to win the NCAA Championship and US Amateur Championship in same year. The others are Tiger Woods, Phil Mickleson and Jack Nicklaus.


Four Arnold Palmer Cup players have won Major Championships.


Since its inception in 1997, 91 former Arnold Palmer Cup participants have gone on to earn cards on either the PGA or European Tours.


Snedeker, Haas and Horschel have claimed the FedEx Cup while Donald has won The Race to Dubai



With kind regards


Stuart B Leech

Secretary Manager

Return to News Page

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2
CONGU® is Copyright Council of National Golf Unions.