Lancashire Union of Golf Clubs Ltd

Winn's a first time winner

THOMAS Winn secured his first Galvin Green Northern Order of Merit victory
when he claimed the Acorn Trophy at Accrington, writes DAVID BIRTOLL.
And the Morecambe plus one player achieved it at the expense of last year's
winner, the host club's Ian Hardman, who was a shot adrift.
They were the only players to better par, Winn adding a three-under 67 to
his opening 70 which featured four birdies in each round, as his rival
posted 67 and 71.
      Meanwhile, Huyton & Prescot's John Carroll maintained his lead at
the head of the table by 30 points from Northenden's Sam Prince who is five
clear of Cheshire County clubmate Tom Dolan from Heswall.

LEADING SCORES: 137 Thomas Winn (Morecambe) 70 67; 138 Ian Hardman
(Accrington) 67 71; 140 Chris Chilton (High Legh Park) 71 69; 141 Jack
Shelley (Formby) 71 70, Joe Brice (Manchester) 70 71; 142 James Kempster
(Bramall) 72 70, Mark Ashworth (Clitheroe) 71 71; 145 Paul McFerran
(Warrington) 72 73; 146 Luke Ormerod (Nelson) 75 71, Jack Brooks (Didsbury)
75 71, Graeme Booth (Prestatyn) 72 74, Richard Shak (Pleasington) 72 74. 

ORDER OF MERIT:  460pts John Carroll (Huyton & Prescot); 430 Sam Prince
(Northenden); 425 Tom Dolan (Heswall); 260 Mike Harrington (Mottram Hall);
240 Thomas Winn (Morecambe; 225 Joe Brice (Manchester); 195 Richie Blundell
(Hillside); 190 Ian Kenwright (Haydock Park), Mark Duncalf (Formby); 160
Paul McFerran (Warrington), 150 Paul Kinnear (Formby), Oliver Clarke

Return to News Page

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2
CONGU® is Copyright Council of National Golf Unions.