Lancashire Union of Golf Clubs Ltd

Harwood plays his cards right

ANTHONY Harwood won the Wilpshire Trophy to move into the top 12 in the
Galvin Green Northern Order of Merit, writes DAVID BIRTILL.
But it was a close call for the Blackburn man who denied Clitheroe's Mark
Ashworth, winner in 2011, and Lancashire County player Joe Brice from
The trio each posted three-over-par totals of 143 but Harwood got the
verdict thanks to a lower second round score of 70 which contained three
Formby's England player Paul Kinnear, who was defending his title, finished
fourth, four off the pace 
   Brice, meanwhile, moved into fourth place in the rankings, 160
points behind county team-mate John Carroll, from Huyton & Prescot.

LEADING SCORES: 143 Anthony Harwood (Blackburn) 73 70, Mark Ashworth
(Clitheroe) 71 72, Joe Brice (Manchester) 71 72; 147 Paul Kinnear (Formby)
78 69, Steve McGlynn (Preston) 76 71, James Holt (Wilpshire) 74 73; 148 Tony
Flanagan (Clitheroe) 75 73, Brett Lancstreth (Wilpshire) 73 75, Josh Ashton
(Southport & Ainsdale) 71 77; 149 Gary Byrne (Clitheroe) 77 72, Lewis Boyle
(Pleasington) 77 72, Mark Duncalf (Formby) 75 74.

ORDER OF MERIT:   460pts John Carroll (Huyton & Prescot); 430 Sam Prince
(Northenden); 425 Tom Dolan (Heswall); 300 Joe Brice (Manchester); 260 Mike
Harrington (Mottram Hall); 240 Thomas Winn (Morecambe); 210 Paul Kinnear
(Formby); 200 Mark Duncalf (Formby) 195 Richie Blundell (Hillside); 190 Ian
Kenwright (Haydock Park), Anthony Harwood (Blackburn); 160 Paul McFerran

Return to News Page

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2
CONGU® is Copyright Council of National Golf Unions.